A Timely Reform by Ian Ridley

Blog & web site of Ian Ridley

Penultimate Shuttle Mission should launch on Wednesday

Shuttle Discovery is readied for STS-133Space Shuttle Discovery is due to launch from Florida on Wednesday 3rd November at 3.52pm EDT (7.52pm GMT if I’ve got my time zones right).

Catch these events whilst you can: STS-133 is Discovery’s last mission and the last-but-one Shuttle mission before they are retired in February 2011.

NASA TV has full live coverage of each launch and mission and 24-hour News Channels usually carry each launch.

NASA has all the mission information. Heavens Above provides predictions for spotting the Shuttle and International Space Station as they orbit overhead. Weather permitting, you should be able to spot the ISS every evening this week at various times between 5pm and 7pm.

Edit: 15/11/10 – Launch time has been put back to 4:05 a.m. EST on Nov. 30. That’s 9.05 a.m. GMT.

Share or vote for this article:
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Wikio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *