A Timely Reform by Ian Ridley

Blog & web site of Ian Ridley

Archive for the ‘Equality’ Category

Same old prejudiced Tories in the Lords

Wednesday, January 10th, 2007

More Parliamentary voting patterns, this time from our unelected legislators in the Lords.

Last night a move to throw out the Equality Act (Sexual Orientation) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2006 was defeated by 199 to 68. The Regulations prohibit discrimination on grounds of sexual orientation in provision of goods and services in Northern Ireland and have been in force since 1st Jan in the province.

The Regulations were opposed by some religious groups with a demo outside Parliament

Back on the red benches and 42 Tory Peers joined their “enlightened” colleagues from the DUP and UUP in trying to restore the “freedom” of NI businesses to discriminate against homosexuals.

Nice to know Cameron’s “cuddly” Tories are in fact still at one with the Tebbit tendency.

In fact Norman himself spoke and joined 41 other Tories in voting against the Regulations. Those Tories in full were:

Lord Astor of Hever
The Earl of Caithness
Baroness Carnegy of Lour
Lord de Mauley
Lord Dixon-Smith
The Earl of Dundee
Lord Eden of Winton
Lord Elton
Earl Ferrers
Lord Fraser of Carmyllie
Lord Hamilton of Epsom
Lord Henley
Lord Kalms
Lord Kimball
Baroness Knight of Collingtree
The Earl of Lindsay
Lord Luke
Lord Lyell
Lord Macfarlane of Bearsden
Lord Mackay of Clashfern
Lord Marlesford
Lord Mawhinney
Lord McColl of Dulwich
The Duke of Montrose
Baroness O’Cathain
The Earl of Onslow
Lord Patten
Lord Pearson of Rannoch
Lord Pilkington of Oxenford
Baroness Seccombe
Lord Selsdon
Lord Shaw of Northstead
Lord Steinberg
Lord Stewartby
Lord Swinfen
Lord Taylor of Holbeach
Lord Taylor of Warwick
Lord Tebbit
Lord Trefgarne
Viscount Trenchard
Lord Vinson
Baroness Wilcox

Only 10 Tory Peers voted to keep the Regulations, joining 51 Lib Dems, 114 Labour Peers and a Bishop. 4 Bishops voted against the Regulations.